I have finally completed my two weeks work experience at Pets At Home, and I can safely say that I enjoyed it greatly. The majority of the work experience was good, and it gave me a better understanding of how a pet shop with regular animal delivery works, as well as a better knowledge on how businesses are run in the animal field of retail. I believe the reason for high levels of enjoyment was because of how well I got on with all of the staff, and how well I felt I fitted in. I am in high hope of getting a job there if any positions become available, as I have a deeper connection with one of the managers because of the situation with him and my best friend who also works there (they're sleeping together in secret). The early mornings starting at seven in the morning didn't suit me too well, but it meant that I was able to interact with the animals more, as that is when the cleaning of the enclosures and feeding happens. The animals aren't handled a lot at Pets At Home, and there is always tasks which needed to be completed meaning that I always had something to do, opposed to other work placements where there was nothing to do so I was sent to get the animals use to human interaction. I believe it would be beneficial to handle the animals more, as in my opinion the animals were more people-friendly at smaller pet shops. I managed to damage myself every day somehow, mainly from cuts, not necessarily from the animals, but from opening cardboard boxes too. I will somewhat miss working at Pets At Home, mainly due to the people who worked there.
This morning was the worst of the two weeks, as my dad is a very argumentative person anyway and is even worse in the mornings (which goes the same with me). It wasn't planned for him to take me to work, but because mum had woken up late it was down to him. I was ready by the front door and simply told him to be quick as it's time to leave, already by then I had obviously been such an inconvenience to his life that he started complaining about me and putting me down. I then got into the car waiting for him, for him to then say that the windows need to be defrosted and said it in a way that implied it was my fault. He was being horrible to me for no reason, and after a few more put downs I was gradually getting angrier. I went back in the house absolutely raging, mum calmed me down slightly and I got back into the car to try again. He then continuously complained at me some more even with me telling him to simply stop talking to me. I was so worked up at this point that I hit him and again went back inside, to then take my rage out on furniture. My face looked awful after the crying, which made me more upset and it didn't put out a good outline for the day following. In the end mother took me to work, for me to arrive ten minutes late, not at all giving a good impression for any possibility of being offered a job. My main problem was that I set out to make a really good impression on the managers there, just for it to then be completely screwed with because my dad was being unreasonable. I really do have a great passion of hate for my father. I don't feel like he cares about me in the slightest and he'd much rather have me out of his life completely.
No comments:
Post a Comment